Profile of the alliance

Who are we and what do we do?

The Fraunhofer Photocatalysis Alliance is a group of ten Fraunhofer institutes working together on the development of novel, highly effective photocatalysts which can be applied to a wide range of substrates such as glass, ceramics, plastic and metal.

Our main goal is to produce self-cleaning layers which degrade organic compounds and which also have a biocidal effect.

Other goals of our development work are:

  • to activate the photocatalysts with visible light, enabling indoor applications
  • to increase the photon yield
  • longer service life and easy regeneration
  • to customize the photocatalytic effect

The Photocatalysis Alliance uses a wide range of technologies to develop the layer systems, including vacuum plasma methods, sol-gel technology and water-based coatings.

In order to get rapid and reliable information about the catalytic activity of the layers, the Fraunhofer Photocatalysis Alliance is developing test methods for measuring the chemical-physical and microbiological properties.

The environmental compatibility and health safety of the photocatalytic layers are also important topics. In this regard, the Fraunhofer Photocatalysis Alliance is developing methods and processes for examining the biological effects of large-area outdoor applications of photocatalytic layers. In addition, standardized ecotoxicological methods, which are used for surface water and groundwater protection, are modified to the specific needs of photocatalysis.

Unser Profil

Die Allianz stellt sich vor

In der Fraunhofer-Allianz Photokatalyse arbeiten mehrere Fraunhofer-Institute an der Entwicklung neuer wirksamerer und leistungsfähiger Photokatalysatoren, die sich auf unterschiedlichsten Substraten wie Glas, Keramik, Kunststoff oder Metall anwenden lassen.

Das Ziel sind selbstreinigende Schichten, die organische Verbindungen abbauen und darüber hinaus bakterizid wirken.

Weitere Entwicklungsziele sind:

  • Aktivierbarkeit mit sichtbarem Licht, so dass Innenanwendungen möglich werden
  • Erhöhung der photokatalytischen Aktivität
  • Höhere Lebensdauer und gute Regenerierbarkeit

Zur Entwicklung der Schichtsysteme setzt die Allianz Photokatalyse ein breites Spektrum an Technologien ein – neben Vakuumplasmaverfahren sind dies die Sol-Gel-Technologie und Wasserlacke.

Um schnell und zuverlässig Aussagen über die photokatalytische Aktivität der Schicht zu treffen, entwickelt die Allianz Photokatalyse Prüfverfahren für die chemisch-physikalische und mikrobiologische Bewertung.

Ein weiteres Thema ist die Umweltverträglichkeit und gesundheitliche Unbedenklichkeit der photokatalytischen Schichten. Hierzu entwickelt die Fraunhofer-Allianz Photokatalyse Methoden und Verfahren, mit denen biologische Auswirkungen großflächiger Freilandanwendungen von photokatalytisch aktiven Schichten untersucht werden. Dazu werden standardisierte ökotoxikologische Verfahren, die im Rahmen des Boden-, Gewässer- und Grundwasserschutzes eingesetzt werden, an die spezifische Fragestellung der Photokatalyse angepasst.